St. Lazarus - Calgary Commandery


Founded in 1976, the Calgary Commandery began serving southern Alberta as a small charity primarily fueled by fundraising events and donations by members.

Things began to take off when, under the command of Honourary Colonel Robert Gibson KLJ MMLJ (1999-2001), the Commandery was granted a coveted Casino Licence by the Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission. Such licences allow non-profit groups in Alberta to participate in the operation of casinos for two days every eighteen months or so and gain a share of the proceeds from the operation. From 2002 to 2017 the Commandery earned and was able to distribute more than $500,000 to worthy hospice/palliative care causes.

In 2000, we also saw the completion of a major project in conjunction with the Edmonton Commandery and the Palliative Care Association of Alberta, when we published A Caregivers Guide. This valuable manual has since become a national resource of SAINT LAZARUS CANADA and the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association, is very widely used, and has been translated into 9 languages: English, French, Chinese, Japanese, 2 Arctic languages, Slovene, Portuguese and Australian. Pending are Cree, Italian, Spanish and Czech.

Normally new members or those receiving promotion or awards in our Order must travel across the country to the National event. This is both costly, time consuming, and difficult for our older members. In 2018, in a Canadian first, the Calgary and Edmonton Commanderies did a combined Vigil and Investiture service in Calgary. It was held 22 September 2018 at Historic Trinity Lutheran Church in downtown Calgary. This was followed by a fellowship dinner at Mewata Armoury. The event was well attended and enjoyed by all. It raised money for Trinity Lutheran Church as well as the Order of Saint Lazarus to support Palliative Care.

  • Barbara Hongisto awarded Commander of Merit
  • Britton Mockridge awarded Grand Prior's Certificate of Commendation
  • Julian DeSchutter, Calgary Treasurer
  • David Hongisto awarded Commander of Merit
  • Guadalupe Muñoz de Ratcliffe awarded Member of Merit
  • Rev. Brian Hubka, new postulant
  • Glynis and Richard with David Ingoe
  • Barry Watts awarded Member of Merit
  • Dr. Hernando Leon awarded Member of Merit
  • Procession out of the church with flags
  • Rev. Stewart Miller Chaplain for the Order
  • Rev. Howard Mastin, Trinity Lutheran, welcoming the Order
  • Bryce Larke awarded Officer of Merit
  • Rosemary Appleyard awarded Officer of Merit
  • Judith Mockridge awarded awarded Officer of Merit